RSS Feed

STRYPER Issue Lyric Video For New Song ‘Take It To The Cross’
February 9th, 2018

American Christian heavy metal group Stryper have released an official lyric video for the track ‘Take It To The Cross’, which can be viewed below.

Frontman Michael Sweet commented: “‘Take It To The Cross’ is our answer to many fans asking us to do something a little heavier and even bordering on thrash. The verses are heavy with a vocal and lyric delivery that’s bold and relevant yet the chorus kicks in with a fast, thrashy vibe. We brought in Matt Blanchard (Act Of Defiance / Shadows Fall) to handle the vocal growl on the choruses and the end vamp. This song is 100% high octane.”

Stryper issue ninth full-length studio album proper God Damn Evil on April 20th, 2018 through Frontiers Music Srl.

Michael Sweet added: “We thought long and hard about this title. It was actually considered quite a few years ago and it just didn’t feel like the right time. Now, with all the evil in the world that we see around us on a daily basis, it made perfect sense. It’s a very bold statement yet a prayer asking God to damn / condemn evil. Nothing more, nothing less.

“We all see and hear the darkness that surrounds us in our society but with faith and love, we’ll always have hope. That’s what Stryper is all about – powerful music and a message that builds foundations, not walls. We couldn’t be more excited about God Damn Evil as it showcases our undying love for what we do and why we do it.”

The outing was recorded at SpiritHouse Recording Studios in Northampton, Massachusetts, marking Stryper’s first effort since the recruitment of former Firehouse bassist Perry Richardson. Richardson’s addition was revealed on October 30th, 2017, the firing of Tim Gaines having been announced on September 7th of that year.

Contributing guest vocals on the track ‘Take It To The Cross’ is Act Of Defiance frontman Matt Blanchard.

The track listing is as follows;

01. ‘Take It To The Cross’ (feat. Matt Blanchard)
02. ‘Sorry’
03. ‘Lost’
04. ‘God Damn Evil’
05. ‘You Don’t Even Know Me’
06. ‘The Valley’
07. ‘Sea Of Thieves’
08. ‘Beautiful’
09. ‘Can’t Live Without Your Love’
10. ‘Own Up’
11. ‘The Devil Doesn’t Live Here’

Stryper’s line-up is as follows:
Michael Sweet (vocals)
Oz Fox (guitar)
Perry Richardson (bass, ex-Firehouse / ex-Maxx Warrior)
Robert Sweet (drums)

Eighth full-length studio album proper Fallen was released in October 2015 via Frontiers Music Srl.