RSS Feed

THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Premiere ‘Something Mysterious’ Music Video
May 19th, 2017

Swedish hard rock band The Night Flight Orchestra have filmed a music video for the track ‘Something Mysterious’, which can be viewed below.

Guitarist David Andersson commented: “Almost everyone, no matter who they are, have experienced one, or perhaps even a few, epic nights in their lives. That night when you met the love of your life, and you couldn’t go to sleep because your heart was beating too fast out of pure excitement and joy. That night when you lost the love of your life. The night when you thought that no matter what happens next, I’ll remember this night for the rest of my life. ‘Something Mysterious’ is a song about standing at that crossroads, gathering the courage to take that plunge into the unknown, knowing your life will never be the same again.”

The Night Flight Orchestra issued third studio full-length album Amber Galactic on May 19th, 2017 through Nuclear Blast Records.

Amber Galactic was made available as a limited edition digipak CD featuring an alternate cover art, 2LP vinyl (black and violet sparkle) and a digital download and stream via all known platforms.

Frontman BjörnStrid said: “Amber Galactic was made during late nights and way too early mornings, when sometimes, in the corner of your eye, you can catch a glimpse of another dimension, where all the women are heartbroken space commanders in evening gowns, the champagne is always free and the drugs won’t hurt you. We wanted to create more than just a listening experience, instead we want it to be an alternative reality. We hope that after listening to Amber Galactic, you’ll be wide-eyed, horny and slightly drunk.”

Meanwhile, Andersson offered the following words: “Musicianship in itself is not interesting, neither are the technical aspects of creating music. The ideas and visions behind the music are the only things really worthy of in-depth discussions. We’ve all reached a point where we can all pretty much play and sing whatever we want. We didn’t talk much about chord changes or amplifiers during the recording sessions. But we spent a lot of time discussing Kierkegaard’s concept of anxiety, different vintages of sparkling wine, the psychoacoustic aspects of modulation, the innate superiority of women and why a pearl necklace always look better when whoever wears it has a bored expression on her face.”

A track-by-track breakdown video for the album has been released and can be viewed below.

The outing was recorded at Handsome Hard Studio in Lund, Sweden.

The track listing is as follows:

01. ‘Midnight Flyer’
02. ‘Star Of Rio’
03. ‘Gemini’
04. ‘Sad State Of Affairs’
05. ‘Jennie’
06. ‘Domino’
07. ‘Josephine’
08. ‘Space Whisperer’
09. ‘Something Mysterious’
10. ‘Saturn In Velvet’
11. ‘Just Another Night’ (CD digipak and vinyl bonus track)
12. ‘Fly Tonight (Never Rewind)’ (Japanese bonus track)

The Night Flight Orchestra’s line-up is as follows:

Björn Strid (vocals, Soilwork)
David Andersson (guitar, Mean Streak / Soilwork)
Sebastian Forslund (guitar, Kadwatha)
Sharlee D’ Angelo (bass, Arch Enemy / Spiritual Beggars)
Jonas Källsbäck (drums, Mean Streak)
Richard Larsson (keyboards, Von Benzo)

Created by Elia Cristofoli (aka Solingo), an animated music video was released for the track ‘Gemini’. In addition, an official lyric video was created for the song ‘Midnight Flyer’. Both clips can be viewed below.

Second studio record Skyline Whispers was released in June 2015 through Coroner Records.