RSS Feed

TARJA Unveils ‘O Tannenbaum’ Music Video From New Christmas Album
November 17th, 2017

Finnish symphonic metal vocalist Tarja Turunen, formerly of Nightwish, has released a music video for the song ‘O Tannenbaum’, which can be viewed below.

Tarja issued festive-themed full-length solo studio album From Spirits And Ghosts (Score For A Dark Christmas) on November 17th, 2017 through earMUSIC.

The outing consists of renditions of 11 Christmas tracks, as well as the newly penned composition ‘Together’.

Tarja Turunen commented: “Producing a dark Christmas album in the middle of the summer is a very interesting process, especially if you are doing it by the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Significantly different from the snowy Christmas that I am used to in my home country Finland. Another proof that the darkness comes from deep within. On this album, I explored the other side of Christmas. The Christmas of the lonely people and the missing ones. The Christmas for those that do not find joy in the blinking lights and the jingle bells.”

From Spirits And Ghosts (Score For A Dark Christmas) was produced by Tarja Turunen, film score composer Jim Dooley, and Tim Palmer. Palmer mixed the album at 62′ Studio in Texas, with mastering being handled at Sterling Sound in New York City.

The track listing is as follows;

01. ‘O Come, O Come, Emmanuel’
02. ‘Together’
03. ‘We Three Kings’
04. ‘Deck The Halls’
05. ‘Pie Jesu’
06. ‘Amazing Grace’
07. ‘O Tannenbaum’
08. ‘Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas’
09. ‘God Rest Ye’
10. ‘Feliz Navidad’
11. ‘What Child Is This’
12. ‘We Wish You A Merry Christmas’

From Spirits And Ghosts was made available in the following formats; one-CD digipack, one-LP gatefold (180g, black), and digital.

Filmed at Madison Estudio in Marbella, Spain, a music video was also released for the song ‘O Come, O Come, Emmanuel’, can be viewed below.

Sixth solo studio record The Shadow Self was released in August 2016 via earMUSIC.

<< Back to Archive News
<< Back to Latest News