RSS Feed

PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS Issue First Track-By-Track Video For ‘The Age Of Absurdity’ Album
January 18th, 2018

Welsh rock band Phil Campbell And The Bastard Sons (formerly Phil Campbell’s All Starr Band), featuring Motörhead guitarist Phil Campbell as well as his three sons, issue their debut full-length studio album The Age Of Absurdity on January 26th, 2018 through Nuclear Blast Records.

The first pressing of the CD version of the album will include a cover of Hawkwind’s ‘Silver Machine’. The bonus track features a guest appearence by Hawkwind founder and guitarist Dave Brock.

Phil Campbell commented: “I am really excited for the fans to hear our debut record. Every part of the process was done in Wales, from the writing, to the recording and even the artwork! The album title The Age Of Absurdity was inspired by the crazy world we live in today. The world to me seems to be a bit of a theatre show, so the album artwork idea just seemed to fit so well with the whole concept and album title.”

Singer Neil Starr added: “Writing and recording this album was a lot of fun. We got to record at Rockfield Studios where so many great artists had been over the years – it really was inspirational. Hearing the blistering riffs that the Campbell family seem to churn out effortlessly made me ensure I pushed myself to the limits when writing the melodies and lyrics. It’s an album that I and the rest of the band are very proud of and can’t wait to share it with the world!”

The first track-by-track breakdown video for The Age Of Absurdity has been released and can be viewed below.

A third video trailer for the album can also be viewed below. In the latest clip the band discuss covering Hawkwind’s ‘Silver Machine’.

The Age Of Absurdity was recorded at Rockfield Studios and Longwave Studios in Wales, and produced, engineered and mixed by Romesh Dodangoda. Mastering took place at Abbey Road Studios in London, England.

Cover artwork was created by Matt Riste.

The track listing is as follows:

01. ‘Ringleader’
02. ‘Freak Show’
03. ‘Skin And Bones’
04. ‘Gypsy Kiss’
05. ‘Welcome To Hell’
06. ‘Dark Days’
07. ‘Dropping The Needle’
08. ‘Step Into The Fire’
09. ‘Get On Your Knees’
10. ‘High Rule’
11. ‘Into The Dark’
12. ‘Silver Machine’ (Hawkwind cover feat. Dave Brock) *

* First pressing CD only bonus track.

Phil Campbell And The Bastard Sons’ line-up is as follows:

Neil Starr (vocals)
Phil Campbell (guitar)
Todd Campbell (guitar)
Tyla Campbell (bass)
Dane Campbell (drums)

Music videos were released for the band’s cover of Hawkwind’s ‘Silver Machine’ and the track ‘Welcome To Hell’. In addition, an official lyric video was created for the track ‘Ringleader’. All three clips can be viewed below.

A self-titled debut five-track EP was released in November 2016 via UDR / Motörhead Music.

Promotional photograph by Dan Sturgess.