RSS Feed

MOONSPELL To Release 12th Studio Album ‘1755’ In November
June 19th, 2017

Portuguese gothic metal group Moonspell issue 12th full-length studio album 1755 on November 3rd, 2017 through Napapalm Records.

A Portuguese-language affair, 1755 is albout the 1755 Lisbon earthquake, also known as the Great Lisbon earthquake, which occurred in the Kingdom of Portugal. In combination with subsequent fires and a tsunami, the earthquake almost totally destroyed Lisbon and adjoining areas.

Vocalist Fernando Ribeiro issued the following statement: “We fell in love with the concept and made perfect sense to sing it in our national language, Portuguese. I guess we were just waiting for the right opportunity to work on such an album. Musically, it will be heavier than Extinct. It will be earthshaking but also very detailed with orchestrations and percussion as we want people to relive the Lisbon of the 18th century. Singing it in Portuguese allowed me to find a different expression as a vocalist and my job is to be the survivor of the earthquake, roaming the ruins and telling you all about it.”

The outing was produced by Tue Madsen, once again.

1755 was originally conceived as a four-song bonus set to accompany forthcoming DVD Lisboa Under The Spell, which was recorded on February 4th, 2017 at the Campo Pequeno arena in Lisbon, Portugal.

Moonspell’s line-up is as follows;

Fernando Ribeiro (vocals)
Ricardo Amorim (guitars)
Pedro Paixão (guitars and keyboards)
Aires Pereira (bass)
Mike Gaspar (drums)

Eleventh studio record Extinct was released in March 2015 via Napalm Records.