RSS Feed

MICHAEL SWEET: STRYPER Frontman Issues First Making Of Video For New Solo Album ‘Ten’
August 22nd, 2019

Michael Sweet, vocalist of Orange County, California-based heavy metal group Stryper, issues his eighth solo full-length studio album proper Ten on October 11th, 2019 in Europe through Frontiers Music Srl. Rat Pak Records have scheduled United States release for the same day.

The first in a series of video trailers featuring behind-the-scenes footage from the making of the album can be viewed below.

Sweet commented: “It’s called Ten ’cause it’s my tenth album, and because there is a title track on there about the Ten Commandments – a really powerful song. There’s real heavy stuff. It starts kind of smacking you in the face and it ends kicking you in the gut.”

The outing features a number of guest musicians, including singers Todd La Torre (Queensrÿche) and Ian Raposa (FirstBourne), drummer Will Hunt (Evanescece), bassist John O’Boyle, and guitarists Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake / ex-Night Ranger), Jeff Loomis (Arch Enemy / ex-Nevermore), Marzi Montazeri (Exhorder / ex-Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals), Gus G. Gus G. (Firewind / ex-Ozzy Osbourne), Tracii Guns (L.A. Guns), Rich Ward (Stuck Mojo / Fozzy), Mike Kerr (FirstBourne), Howie Simon, Ethan Brosh and Andy James.

“It started out where I was gonna have just a few players,” said Sweet. “Then I thought, you know, it would be really interesting to bring in a different guy on every song. And I started putting names out there and reaching out to people, and they started agreeing to do it. And then I had guys reaching out to me.”

Speaking about the general musical direction of Ten, Sweet added: “There are old-school, straight-ahead metal ideas à la Judas Priest and Dio, as well as a few uptempo riffs à la Iron Maiden. There’s also a few ballads with a bit of a Led Zeppelin vibe.

“I’m really excited about the musical direction. I’m bringing back a few of those classic hooks and melodies that some of you have asked for. Ask and you shall receive!”

Produced by Michael Sweet, Ten was recorded and mixed by Danny Bernini at Spirithouse Music in Northampton, Massachusetts. Mastering duties were handled by Alex Saltz at APS Mastering in New York City.

The track listing is as follows:

01. ‘Better Part Of Me’ (feat. Jeff Loomis)
02. ‘Lay It Down’ (feat. Marzi Montazeri)
03. ‘Forget, Forgive’ (feat. Howie Simon)
04. ‘Now Or Never’ (feat. Gus G.)
05. ‘Ten’ (feat. Rich Ward)
06. ‘Shine’ (feat. Ethan Brosh)
07. ‘Let It Be Love’
08. ‘Never Alone’ (feat. Joel Hoekstra)
09. ‘When Love Is Hate’ (feat. Joel Hoekstra)
10. ‘Ricochet’ (feat. Tracii Guns)
11. ‘With You Till The End’ (feat. Mike Kerr and Ian Raposa) *
12. ‘Son Of Man’ (feat. Todd La Torre and Andy James) *

* bonus track

Created by Wayne Joyner, an official lyric video was released for the track ‘Better Part Of Me’. The clip can also be viewed below.

Seventh solo studio record One Sided War was released in August 2016 via Rat Pak Records.

Promotional photograph by Pedro Blanco.