RSS Feed

MICHAEL ANGELO BATIO Makes ‘Burn’ Cover Available For Streaming
March 31st, 2015

Chicago, Illinois-based guitarist Michael Angelo Batio (formerly of Californian metal ensemble Nitro) has made his cover version of ‘Burn’ available for streaming, which features Todd LaTorre and Mark Tremonti. Written by Deep Purple, its original rendition was included on the February 1974 album of the same name. Batio’s version can be accessed below.

Michael Angelo Batio issues compilation album Shred Force 1: The Essential Michael Angelo Batio on April 14th, 2015 through Rat Pak Records. The man’s first career retrospective, the effort features a number of musicians from the heavy metal and hard rock genres.

Cover tracks additionally include a rendition of ‘What You’re Doing’, with guest contributions from Queensrÿche vocalist Todd La Torre, Metal Church guitarist Kurdt Vanderhoof, Alice Cooper bassist Chuck Garric, Metal Church / Trans-Siberian Orchestra drummer Jeff Plate and guitarist Craig Blackwell. Written by Rush, its original version featured on the band’s March 1974 self-titled debut.

In addition, Shred Force 1 collects tributes to Cream’s Eric Clapton (‘Slowhand’), late Ozzy Osbourne and Quiet Riot guitarist Randy Rhoads (‘RRR’, also featuring Quiet Riot bassist Rudy Sarzo), and late Pantera guitarist “Dimebag” Darrell (‘Diamond’; a new version, featuring Queensrÿche guitarist Michael Wilton).

Instrumental track ‘8 Pillars Of Steel’ features guest appearances from Elliott Dean Rubinson, Dave Reffett, Jeff Loomis (guitars, ex-Nevermore / Arch Enemy), Rusty Cooley, George Lynch (guitars, Lynch Mob / ex-Dokken), Andrea Martongelli (guitars, Arthemis) and Craig Goldy (guitars, ex-Dio), while fellow instrumental affair ‘Juggernaut’ features guest contributions from Chris Poland (guitars, ex-Megadeth), Dave Reffett, Annie Grunwald, Guthrie Govan, Mike LePond (bass, Symphony X) and Michael Romeo (guitars, Symphony X).

The track listing is as follows;

01. ‘Hands Without Shadows’ (featuring Bobby Rock and William Kopecky)
02. ‘Burn’ (featuring Todd LaTorre and Mark Tremonti)
03. ‘Juggernaut’ (featuring Chris Poland, Dave Reffett, Annie Grunwald, Guthrie Govan, Mike Lepond, and Michael Romeo)
04. ‘What You’re Doing’ (featuring Todd LaTorre, Kurdt Vanderhoof, Chuck Garric, Jeff Plate and Craig Blackwell)
05. ‘8 Pillars of Steel’ (featuring Elliott Dean Rubinson, Dave Reffett, Jeff Loomis, Rusty Cooley, George Lynch, Andrea Martongelli and Craig Goldy)
06. ‘Call To Arms’ (featuring Dan Lenegar, William Kopecky and John Mrozek)
07. ‘2X Again’
08. ‘Slowhand’ (Featuring Warren Dunlevy Jr.)
09. ‘Diamond’ (featuring Michael Wilton and Elliott Dean Rubinson)
10. ‘Rainforest’
11. ‘Gotta Run’ (featuring Dan Lenegar, William Kopecky and John Mrozek)
12. ‘No Boundaries’
13. ‘RRR’ (featuring Rudy Sarzo and Bobby Rock)

Bonus tracks (digital version only)

14. ‘I Pray The Lord’
15. ‘Peace’

<< Back to Archive News
<< Back to Latest News