RSS Feed

MASTERPLAN Stream Cover Of HELLOWEEN’s ‘Mr. Ego’
July 27th, 2017

German power metal group Masterplan have made their cover of the Helloween track ‘Mr. Ego’ available for streaming through YouTube, which can be accessed below.

Masterplan issue Helloween re-recordings album PumpKings on July 28th, 2017 through AFM Records.

The outing consists of reworked versions of Helloween tracks from albums that guitarist Roland Grapow performed on during his time with the aforementioned, Grapow having been a member of Helloween from 1989 until 2001.

“The idea for this project was born more than three years ago”, Grapow recalls. “I’m proud of the songs, but these days I’d do certain things a bit different. So it was an easy decision to re-record them with Masterplan now. It took quite a while to come up with the album because I was busy with other productions in my studio and in addition we had just released our Keep Your Dream aLive DVD with Masterplan in the Fall of 2015, so there was no reason to rush things.”

Included are three tracks from Pink Bubbles Go Ape (1991), two from Chameleon (1993), two from Master Of The Rings (1994), one from The Time Of The Oath (1996), and two from The Dark Ride (2000).

“Our new versions of the songs are heavier definitely”, adds Roland. “It would have been pointless to just reproduce the tracks exactly as they were back then. But I feel that with our new take on it, the different vocals and overall more rough attitude, PumpKings could be an interesting thing for both Masterplan and Helloween fans. However, it was great fun to revisit this very important phase of my career – like meeting old friends.”

The track listing is as follows;

01. ‘The Chance’
02. ‘Someone’s Crying’
03. ‘Mankind’
04. ‘Step Out Of Hell’
05. ‘Mr. Ego’
06. ‘Still We Go’
07. ‘Escalation 666’
08. ‘The Time Of The Oath’
09. ‘Music’
10. ‘The Dark Ride’

Masterplan’s line-up is as follows;

Rick Altzi (vocals)
Roland Grapow (guitars, ex-Helloween)
Jari Kainulainen (bass, ex-Stratovarius / ex-Symfonia)
Kevin Kott (drums, At Vance)
Axel Mackenrott (keyboards)

An official lyric video was created for the track ‘The Chance’, which can be viewed below.

Fifth studio record Novum Initium was released in June 2013 via AFM Records.

<< Back to Archive News
<< Back to Latest News