RSS Feed

LACUNA COIL Release Seventh Studio Album ‘Broken Crown Halo’
March 31st, 2014

Milan, Italy-based heavy rock group Lacuna Coil issued seventh studio full-length album Broken Crown Halo in North America on April 1st, 2014 through Century Media Records. The label also scheduled international release for one day earlier.

The outing was cut in Milan, Italy, with Jay Baumgardner handling production duties and Kyle Hoffman handling engineering duties. Mastering responsibilities fell to Howie Weinberg, meanwhile.

Lacuna Coil issued the following statement: “What conflict could run so deep that it takes you to the deepest corners of your inner world? Today we are surrounded by a lot of lies, aliases, and people acting like they are wearing an invisible crown — but you better have thick skin if you want to wear this crown!

Broken Crown Halo is a cinematic album that could be the soundtrack of our days — it is a dark vision of a near future when survival is second nature, and failure is not something to be avoided, but rather cultivated with lessons learned along the way.

“We set the bar pretty high with Dark Adrenaline and it hasn’t been easy bringing our sound to the next level, but we have lived, learned and grown through a year full of personal issues and changes. We learned to be strong and get stronger, and we felt an inner vibe in this band that we haven’t felt before. We locked ourselves in an age-old studio in Milan, Italy, where history was strong and the past met with our future, vintage gear and the influence of classic Italian horror movies and bands like Goblin meeting the fresh and rough sounds of the modern world with unique and invigorating results. Broken Crown Halo is Lacuna Coil introducing a new order, and letting nothing stand in our way…”

The track listing was as follows;

01. ‘Nothing Stands In Our Way’
02. ‘Zombies’
03. ‘Hostage To The Light’
04. ‘Victims’
05. ‘Die & Rise’
06. ‘I Forgive (But I Won’t Forget Your Name)’
07. ‘Cybersleep’
08. ‘Infection’
09. ‘I Burn In You’
10. ‘In The End I Feel Alive’
11. ‘One Cold Day’

Directed by Sitcom Soldiers, a music video was filmed for the track ‘I Forgive (But I Won’t Forget Your Name)’. In addition, official lyric videos were released for the songs ‘Nothing Stands In Our Way’ and ‘Die & Rise’, the latter also issued as a digital single on February 18th.

A CD release show for Broken Crown Halo was held at The Roxy Theatre in West Hollywood, California on April 1st; fans were required to purchase the full-length at the venue in order to gain admission.

In its first week of release, Broken Crown Halo sold roughly 13,000 copies in the United States, landing at position 27 on the Billboard 200. Additionally, the album charted in Italy (#13), Switzerland (#37), Germany (#40), the United Kingdom (#45), Austria (#55), France (#56), Belgium (Wallonia, #61 / Flanders, #66), Greece (#63), Canada (#65), and the Netherlands (#75).

Sixth studio record Dark Adrenaline was released in January 2012.