RSS Feed

FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE Part Ways With Vocalist / Guitarist Tommaso Riccardi
October 10th, 2017

Italian symphonic death metal group Fleshgod Apocalypse have parted ways with vocalist and guitarist Tommaso Riccardi following an eight-year tenure, revealing this development on October 10th, 2017.

Fleshgod Apocalypse issued the following statement: “About a couple of months ago, our singer Tommaso left the band for personal reasons. Our separation wasn’t painless, but everybody thought this was the best solution. Therefore, we sat down and tried to figure out all possible scenarios for a band that suddenly loses its frontman.

“The will to go on and continue this journey was stronger than everything else. Since the message of Fleshgod Apocalypse goes beyond music itself, we couldn’t let someone who wasn’t there since the beginning be its spokesman. So the only way to go on was to take a look back at our roots: We decided that Francesco Paoli, our drummer, songwriter, founder and first frontman of the band, was the natural choice for this delicate and also challenging position. Our mastermind has finally taken back his originary role as lead vocalist and guitarist.

“From now on, besides our precious soprano singer Veronica Bordacchini, we’ll have the honor to share the stage with the Italian metal legend David Folchitto on drums together with the phenomenal Fabio Bartoletti on lead guitar.

“Fleshgod Apocalypse are more focused and determined than ever. Expect new epic live experiences and, most likely, the darkest and heaviest Fleshgod Apocalypse album that we’ve ever written.

“We can’t wait to start this new, exciting chapter of our career. Our friends in South America will be the first ones to witness the new course of the band, with Francesco as our frontman.

“What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”

Fleshgod Apocalypse’s line-up is as follows;

Francesco Paoli (vocals and guitars)
Fabio Bartoletti (lead guitars)
Cristiano Trionfera (guitars and backing vocals)
Paolo Rossi (bass and backing vocals)
David Folchitto (drums)
Francesco Ferrini (piano and orchestration)

Francesco Paoli was vocalist and guitarist for Fleshgod Apocalypse from their April 2007 inception until shortly following the release of March 2009 debut full-length studio album Oracles, issued via Candlelight Records in Europe, with Willowtip Records handling North American distribution. Tommaso Riccardi joined the ranks, Paoli switching to the drum position. Lone EP Mafia emerged in May 2010, the band signing with Nuclear Blast Records in May 2011. Riccardi’s vocals could be heard on the next three studio affairs, namely; Agony (August 2011), Labryrinth (August 2013), and King (February 2016).

Promotional photograph by MediaRomantica PH.