RSS Feed

EVOCATION Stream ‘The Shadow Archetype’ Album In Its Entirety
March 10th, 2017

Swedish death metal band Evocation issued fifth full-length studio album The Shadow Archetype on March 10th, 2017 through Metal Blade Records.

Guitarist Marko Palmen commented: “In my opinion, the new album is a step towards the roots of the band, although it also has a footing in the future. I think the sound of the new album in many ways reflect the dynamic of me and Simon, who wrote the music for the album. I’m more of an old-school death metal kind of guy and Simon comes from the younger generation of death metal freaks who enjoy technicality and brutality. Somehow, we just merged those two sides of death metal into the creation that will be known as The Shadow Archetype. But I also have to point out that the album is a creation made by all the members of Evocation and I think we all pushed ourselves to the very limit of what is achievable. I’m certain that we all can stand proud of the album in the future.”

The album has been made available for streaming in its entirety through YouTube and can be accessed below.

The track listing is as follows;

01. ‘Into Ruins’
02. ‘Condemned To The Grave’
03. ‘Modus Operandi’
04. ‘Children Of Stone’
05. ‘The Coroner’
06. ‘The Shadow Archetype’
07. ‘Blind Obedience’
08. ‘Survival Of The Sickest’
09. ‘Sulphur And Blood’
10. ‘Imperium Fall’
11. ‘Dark Day Sunrise’

Evocation’s recording line-up was as follows:

Thomas Josefsson (vocals)
Marko Palmén (guitar)
Simon Exner (guitar)
Gustaf Jorde (bass)
Per Møller Jensen (session drums, ex-The Haunted / ex-Invocator)

Directed by Rene U Valdes, a music video was filmed for the track, which can be viewed below.

Fourth studio record Illusions Of Grandeur was released in September 2012 via Century Media Records.