RSS Feed

EDGUY To Celebrate 25th Anniversary With ‘Monuments’ 2CD / DVD Compilation Package
March 13th, 2017

Fulda, Germany-based melodic metal band Edguy issue 2CD / DVD compilation set Monuments on July 14th, 2017 through Nuclear Blast Records.

Released to celebrate the band’s 25th anniversary, Monuments will include brand new material, their best tracks of the last 25 years, and old rarities that have never been published before. In addition, the DVD includes an entire show from their tour in support of 2004’s Hellfire Club album as well as the complete collection of Edguy promotional video clips. The limited edition version will also include an extensive book containing material from throughout the band’s entire history.

Frontman Tobias Sammet commented: “Whilst collecting all of this picture material together we were once again made aware of how proud we are of what we have created. There are probably not many musicians who are lucky enough to be able to look back on a 25 year-old band history only at the end of their thirties. And especially without any line-up changes in the last 20 years! This is even more incredible considering that we’re not from Birmingham, New York or a German metropolis but from a small town called Fulda, a place where you normally only know about the insights of the music business by hearsay. I mean, as kids we started to play Edguy shows even before we had visited concerts as fans ourselves! Then we started to play shows outside our home town, then outside Germany and all of a sudden we found ourselves touring in Asia, America and Australia on a regular basis, because apparently there were people who liked our music. And the numbers kept on growing. For us, the process felt quite natural, the very next step was all that mattered to us. We didn’t think about what happened while things were actually happening…

“But if you look back now, you will realise how lucky we were! It’s now time to celebrate our anniversary with our fans. We’ll celebrate our quarter century with the release of Monuments and live in some select cities! We’ll perform a best-of set list, a journey throughout our past, with a lot of fuss and at full throttle! The first quarter century is over and we want to honour these years with our fans! To the next 25 years!”

Edguy’s line-up is as follows:

Tobias Sammet (vocals, Avantasia)
Jens Ludwig (guitar)
Dirk Sauer (guitar)
Tobias Exxel (bass)
Felix Bohnke (drums)

Tenth studio record Space Police – Defenders Of The Crown was released in April 2014.

<< Back to Archive News
<< Back to Latest News