RSS Feed

DREAM THEATER Release 13th Studio Album ‘The Astonishing’
January 29th, 2016

Long Island, New York-based progressive metal group Dream Theater issued 13th full-length studio album The Astonishing on January 29th, 2016 through Roadrunner Records.

Dream Theater began working on the effort in January 2015 at Cove City Sound Studios in Glen Cove, New York.

The track listing is as follows;

Act I

01. ‘Descent Of The NOMACS’
02. ‘Dystopian Overture’
03. ‘The Gift Of Music’
04. ‘The Answer’
05. ‘A Better Life’
06. ‘Lord Nafaryus’
07. ‘A Savior In The Square’
08. ‘When Your Time Has Come’
09. ‘Act Of Faythe’
10. ‘Three Days’
11. ‘The Hovering Sojourn’
12. ‘Brother, Can You Hear Me?’
13. ‘A Life Left Behind’
14. ‘Ravenskill’
15. ‘Chosen’
16. ‘A Tempting Offer’
17. ‘Digital Discord’
18. ‘The X Aspect’
19. ‘A New Beginning’
20. ‘The Road To Revolution’

Act II

01. ‘2285 Entr’acte’
02. ‘Moment Of Betrayal’
03. ‘Heaven’s Cove’
04. ‘Begin Again’
05. ‘The Path That Divides’
06. ‘Machine Chatter’
07. ‘The Walking Shadow’
08. ‘My Last Farewell’
09. ‘Losing Faythe’
10. ‘Whispers In The Wind’
11. ‘Hymn Of A Thousand Voices’
12. ‘Our New World’
13. ‘Power Down’
14. ‘Astonishing’

Dream Theaters line-up was as follows;

James LaBrie (vocals)
John Petrucci (guitar)
John Myung (bass)
Mike Mangini (drums)
Jordan Rudess (keyboards)

A mini-site was launched for the effort, a conceptual affair focusing on various characters and spread over two “acts”.

In its first week of release, The Astonishing charted in the following countries; Norway (#2), Hungary (#2), Italy (#3), Sweden (#3), Portugal (#3), Netherlands (#4), Germany (#5), Austria (#6), Canada (#7), Australia (#10), Japan (#10), Belgium (#11), UK (#11), US (#11), France (#13), and New Zealand (#17).

Dream Theater re-recorded a version of the track ‘Our New World’ featuring Halestorm frontwoman Lzzy Hale, which can be streamed below via YouTube.

Music videos were filmed for the tracks ‘The Gift Of Music’ and ‘Our New World’, which can be viewed below.

Twelfth studio record Dream Theater was released in September 2013.

<< Back to Archive News
<< Back to Latest News