RSS Feed

CHAOS MAGIC Release Music Video For Acoustic Version Of ‘I’d Give It All’
June 21st, 2019

Caterina Nix

Chilean symphonic metal group Chaos Magic have released a music video for an acoustic version of the track ‘I’d Give It All’, which can be viewed below.

Singer Caterina Nix commented: “I wrote the lyrics thinking about an abusive relationship. I have seen many couples who operate with aggression back and forth, and in the news we see crimes of passion that have their roots in these kind of love / hate toxic relationships all the time. I thought it was an interesting and relevant topic to write about and to put out there for discussion. As for the musical inspiration, I wanted a heavy yet catchy rhythm like something found in Korn’s music, and strong, heavy guitars with alternative metal elements. I also added an operatic choir for the intro which gives it a bit of a symphonic metal feel.”

Chaos Magic issued second full-length studio album Furyborn on June 14th, 2019 through Frontiers Music Srl.

“I’ve been writing songs for many years, however, on the previous Chaos Magic album I had no intention of interfering with Timo’s creative process,” said frontwoman Caterina Nix, referencing ex-Stratovarius guitarist Timo Tolkki’s involvement on the first Chaos Magic album. “But in the case of Furyborn, I had the freedom to design a musical vision of my own. I wanted the album to have both a modern sound and nostalgic feel to it. The process of writing for me is very organic, I just start singing a melody and build the songs from there. I seek the chords, write the lyrics, and work them through. I have several streams of influence, so I definitely wanted a rich mixture of intensities, rhythms, and styles. Of course, I can’t leave out the fact that I worked with two brilliant musicians to give shape to the album, Franco Lama and Nasson, who also produced the album and was a key element in the development of the sound.”

Caterina further elaborated on Furyborn’s sound. “I wanted to mix different styles and also seek a sound of my own and I think that is well achieved in Furyborn, she stated. It’s a mixture of heavy, melodic, symphonic, and alternative metal, with traces of modern progressive and electronic elements, unique arrangements and a bit of a nostalgic feel associated to certain sounds from the 90s and early 00s. It has moments of rage, power, and sick darkness, but also vulnerable, sensual, and sometimes playful points. Furyborn is harder to label compared to the previous Chaos Magic album since on the new album the guitars are a more prominent ingredient that gives tremendous richness to the sound. In summary, Furyborn is a rollercoaster ride that flows through assorted intense styles with uncommon arrangements but with very catchy melodies.”

Furyborn features several guest vocalists, including Tom S. Englund (Evergrey) on the title track, Ailyn (ex-Sirenia) on ‘Bravely Beautiful’, and Ronnie Romero (Rainbow and CoreLeoni singer, and also ex-Lords Of Black) on ‘Path Of The Brave’.

Producer Nasson also duets with Caterina on ‘Falling Again’, while Mistheria lends keyboards to ‘Beware Of Silent Waters’.

“These are incredible voices and all the guest singers gave the album the textures I desired to each of the songs they participated in,” said Caterina.

Mixing was handled by Jacob Hansen.

The track listing is as follows;

01. ‘You Will Breathe Again’
02. ‘Furyborn’ (feat. Tom S. Englund)
03. ‘Like Never Before’
04. ‘Beware Of Silent Waters’ (feat. Mistheria)
05. ‘Falling Again’ (feat. Nasson)
06. ‘Bravely Beautiful’ (feat. Ailyn)
07. ‘Throw Me To The Wolves’
08. ‘I’d Give It All’
09. ‘Path Of The Brave’ (feat. Ronnie Romero)
10. ‘My Affliction’
11. ‘I’m Your Cancer’

Chaos Magic’s line-up is as follows;

Caterina Nix (vocals)
Nasson (guitars, vocals, piano, programming, acoustic guitars and additional bass)
Hermaunt Folatre (bass)
Carlos Hernandez (drums)
Franco Lama (programming)

Music videos were filmed for the tracks ‘Like Never Before’ and ‘I’m Your Cancer’. In addition, an official lyric video was created for the title track. Both clips can also be viewed below.

A self-titled debut studio record was released in July 2015 via Frontiers Music Srl.

Promotional photograph by Dario Vargas.

<< Back to Archive News
<< Back to Latest News