RSS Feed

BARREN EARTH Release Lyric Video For New Track ‘Withdrawal’
February 16th, 2018

Helsinki, Finland-based progressive death metal group Barren Earth have released an official lyric video for the track ‘Withdrawal’, which can be viewed below.

Vocalist Jón Aldará commented: “‘Withdrawal’ moves Barren Earth into previously unexplored territory, making it an unorthodox album, but one that makes complete sense to us. It is the song that inspired the album title, and its theme of social anxiety is the glue which binds the songs together, lyrically.”

Drummer Marko Tarvonen added: “Barren Earth was always heavily categorised as death metal or prog for mixing those two influences. With ‘Withdrawal’, we wanted to do something that is neither. Instead, this song is a slowly growing rock ballad where the instrumentation has been kept minimal, giving more room for Jón’s voice. It’s the ballad that Scorpions or King Crimson never did!”

Barren Earth issue fourth full-length studio album A Complex Of Cages on March 30th, 2018 through Century Media Records.

Barren Earth entered Woodshed Studios during March 2017 with producer Victor Bullok (aka V. Santura) to begin recording sessions.

Jón Aldará said: “For me, this truly feels like a transcendental album for us. The songwriting dynamics have changed quite drastically since On Lonely Towers, and even though every song is quite unmistakably Barren Earth, the album as a whole brings us towards something stranger. Lyrically, the album follows a theme that fits the instability of the music, namely the isolating aspect of suffering from different mental issues such as manic depression, psychopathy and agoraphobia.”

Bassist Olli-Pekka “Oppu” Laine shared the following words, meanwhile: “Like Barren Earth’s previous works, the album’s material varies from straightforward standards to experimental opuses. Still, the red line is there, and every song asserts its place in the whole. Brutal death metal, artsy prog rock, pompous melodies with dozens of layers… This music has been crafted without any external pressure, radiating utter spiritual liberation. Production-wise I see A Complex Of Cages as an improved version of Barren Earth, thanks to V. Santura, who supervised the album making process and let us concentrate solely on composing, arranging and performing.”

The track listing is as follows;

01. ‘The Living Fortress’
02. ‘The Ruby’
03. ‘Further Down’
04. ‘Zeal’
05. ‘Scatterprey’
06. ‘Solitude Pith’
07. ‘Dysphoria’
08. ‘Spire’
09. ‘Withdrawal’

Barren Earth’s line-up is as follows;

Jón Aldará (vocals)
Janne Perttilä (guitars)
Sami Yli-Sirniö (guitars, Kreator)
Olli-Pekka “Oppu” Laine (bass, ex-Amorphis)
Marko Tarvonen (drums, Moonsorrow)
Antti Myllynen (keyboards)

The track ‘Further Down’ can be streamed below.

Third studio record On Lonely Towers was released in March 2015 through Century Media Records.

<< Back to Archive News
<< Back to Latest News