RSS Feed

AS LIONS Release Music Video For Acoustic Version Of ‘World On Fire’ Track
April 10th, 2017

London, England-based metal / rock group As Lions have released a music video an acoustic version of the track ‘World On Fire’. Directed by Ryan Chang, the clip can be viewed below.

“It’s another reflection of what I feel makes up our day and age,” explains vocalist Austin Dickinson, son of Iron Maiden frontman Bruce Dickinson. “It’s the more dynamic cousin of ‘Selfish Age’, albeit a lot less ‘on the nose’. It definitely shares the vein of being deconstructive toward our way of life and what we’re exposed to on a daily basis.”

Dickinson admits the track is “a very reactive song. But I didn’t want to drench it in specifics or politics, either. Every single person who listens to our music is an individual and has their own personal story, so although I was inspired to write this song by the rampant sense of hopelessness the world is showcasing, I wanted it to have enough hope and raise enough questions that it could fit into someone’s life if they wanted it to. Some of my favourite songs are the ones that are open enough to soundtrack my life at any given moment, so that’s what we wanted to do.”

The singer explains that the band recast the song acoustically for the video instead of depicting the version stripped onto Selfish Age because when it was written. “It was just me and Conor (O’Keefe) in my front room with a guitar and a piano. We got the chills straight away, and ever since we first demoed it and started building on it, we knew we wanted to strip it back to its origins at some point. Lyrically and melodically, it stands on its own two feet without the bells and whistles, so we wanted to show that.”

As Lions issued debut full-length studio album Selfish Age on January 20th, 2017 through Better Noise Records.

Those who pre-ordered Selfish Age instantly received the song ‘Bury My Dead’ as well as the following four tracks; ‘Aftermath’, ‘White Flags’, ‘Deathless’, and ‘World On Fire’ – all four of which comprised debut EP Aftermath.

The outing was produced by David Bendeth and Kane Churko.

The track listing is as follows;

01. ‘Aftermath’
02. ‘The Suffering’
03. ‘Bury My Dead’
04. ‘Deathless’
05. ‘Selfish Age’
06. ‘White Flags’
07. ‘Pieces’
08. ‘World On Fire’
09. ‘One By One’
10. ‘The Fall’
11. ‘The Great Escape’

As Lions’ line-up is as follows;

Austin Dickinson (vocals)
Conor O’Keefe (guitars and keyboards)
Will Homer (guitars)
Stefan Whiting (bass)
Dave Fee (drums)

Music videos were filmed for the tracks ‘Aftermath’ and ‘One By One’, which can also be viewed below. In addition, official lyric videos were created for the title track and the song ‘Bury My Dead’.

Debut EP Aftermath was released in October 2016 via Better Noise.

<< Back to Archive News
<< Back to Latest News