RSS Feed

WITHIN TEMPTATION Release Sixth Studio Album ‘Hydra’
January 31st, 2014

Dutch symphonic rock group Within Temptation issued sixth studio full-length album Hydra on January 31st, 2014 in Europe (excluding the United Kingdom). Its United Kingdom release occurred on February 3rd via Dramatico, while Nuclear Blast Entertainment scheduled North American release for the 4th.

Hydra’s cover artwork was designed by Romano Molenaar.

Those who pre-order Hydra via iTunesreceived the record’s first two singles: ‘Dangerous’, which features a guest appearance by former Killswitch Engage vocalist Howard Jones, and ‘Paradise (What About Us?)’, featuring erstwhile Nightwish frontwoman Tarja Turunen.

A digital premium album version of Hydra, complete with digi-booklet, was available on iTunes and includes 18 audio tracks as well as a music video. These 18 audio tracks included bonus “Evolution Versions” of four tracks, which contained audio commentary from guitarist Robert Westerholt and vocalist Sharon Den Adel as to the development of the songs, their lyrical inspiration and the sound of the initial demos and vocals.

In addition to a digital premium version, Hydra was also be released in a deluxe box set version which contained the following:

* 18-track Hydra album including bonus tracks in the form of a media book with a hot foil print cover, featuring a 100-page booklet consisting of photos
* Double gatefold black vinyl version of the album including bonus tracks
* Instrumental version of the entire album
* Songbook with sheet music of the songs of the album
* Hydra guitar pick
* Packaged in an especially designed LP-sized box

The track listing for the album’s digital premium version was as follows;

01. ‘Let Us Burn’
02. ‘Dangerous’ (featuring Howard Jones)
03. ‘And We Run’ (featuring Xzibit)
04. ‘Paradise (What About Us?)’ (featuring Tarja)
05. ‘Edge Of The World’
06. ‘Silver Moonlight’
07. ‘Covered By Roses’
08. ‘Dog Days’
09. ‘Tell Me Why’
10. ‘Whole World Is Watching’ (featuring Dave Pirner)
11. ‘Radioactive’ (originally performed by Imagine Dragons)
12. ‘Summertime Sadness’ (originally performed by Lana del Ray)
13. ‘Let Her Go’ (originally performed by Passenger)
14. ‘Dirty Dancer’ (originally performed by Enrique Iglesias)
15. ‘And We Run’ (“Evolution” track)
16. ‘Silver Moonlight’ (“Evolution” track)
17. ‘Covered By Roses’ (“Evolution” track)
18. ‘Tell Me Why’ (“Evolution” track)
19. ‘Paradise (What About Us?)’ (featuring Tarja) music video (exclusive to iTunes premium version)

A listening party for Hydra was held at The Joint, 8771 Pico Boulevard, in Los Angeles, California on January 24th at 9pm. The event, which was open to the public, was attended by vocalist Sharon den Adel and guitarists Robert Westerholt and Ruud Jolie.

Fifth studio record The Unforgiving was released in March 2011.