RSS Feed

SÓLSTAFIR Unveil Music Video For ‘Silfur-Refur’ Track
June 1st, 2017

Reykjavik, Iceland-based rock band Sólstafir have filmed a music video for the track ‘Silfur-Refur’, which can be viewed below.

Frontman Aðalbjörn Tryggvason commented: “Videos have always been a medium that we are taking seriously. Therefore, we have worked with excellent visual artists like Bowen Staines and Vesa Ranta on previous clips. We are privileged to have been able to enlist the team of Nico Poalillo and Peter Beste to create the imagery for ‘Silfur-Refur’. They have directed and produced a video that beautifully illustrates our song – at least in our minds. We are giving Nico and Peter our heartfelt thanks for their amazing contribution to our musical vision. The video’s meaning is a puzzle, which we are leaving for you to solve as we don’t want to spoil your imagination spinning stories of its own. We sincerely hope that you enjoy ‘Silfur-Refur’ as much as we do.”

Sólstafir issued sixth full-length studio album Berdreyminn on May 26th, 2017 through Season Of Mist.

The album has been made available for streaming in its entirety through YouTube and can be accessed below.

The cover artwork was created by Adam Burke.

The track listing is as follows:

01. ‘Silfur-Refur’
02. ‘Ísafold’
03. ‘Hula’
04. ‘Nárós’
05. ‘Hvít Sæng’
06. ‘Dýrafjörður’
07. ‘Ambátt’
08. ‘Bláfjall’

Sólstafir’s line-up is as follows:

Aðalbjörn Tryggvason (vocals and guitar)
Sæþór Maríus Sæþórsson (guitar)
Svavar Austmann (bass)
Hallgrímur Jón Hallgrímsson (drums and backing vocals)

A limited edition 10-inch vinyl version of ‘Silfur-Refur’ was released in two variants and sold exclusively at the four-day 2017 Roadburn Festival, held between April 20th and 23rd in Tilburg, Netherlands. The single was made available in black vinyl (400 copies) and blue vinyl (300 copies) and included an exclusive B-side ‘Scorpion Moonrise’, which featured a guest appearance from Hexvessel and former Beastmilk vocalist Mat “Kvohst” McNerney, who also wrote the lyrics.

Fifth studio record Ótta was released in August 2014.