RSS Feed

MORBID ANGEL Release Debut Full-Length ‘Altars Of Madness’
May 1989

Tampa, Florida-based death metal group Morbid Angel issued debut full-length album Altars Of Madness in May 1989 through Earache Records. The outing was cut during 1988 at Morrisound Recording in Tampa, Florida, Morbid Angel themselves handling production duties – Earache Records owner Digby Pearson was credited as executive producer. Tom Morris mixed and engineered Altars Of Madness. Dan Seagrave designed the front cover artwork, with album photography being overseen by Bob Collet. Altars Of Madness was the first of two Morbid Angel albums to feature guitarist Richard Brunelle, the other being sophomore record Blessed Are The Sick (1991).

The track listing was as follows;

Side one:

01. ‘Immortal Rites’
02. ‘Suffocation’
03. ‘Visions From The Dark Side’
04. ‘Maze Of Torment’

Side two:

01. ‘Chapel Of Ghouls’
02. ‘Bleed For The Devil’
03. ‘Damnation’
04. ‘Blasphemy’
05. ‘Evil Spells’