RSS Feed

MACHINE HEAD Release Eighth Studio Album ‘Bloodstone & Diamonds’
November 7th, 2014

San Francisco, California-based heavy metal group Machine Head issued eighth studio full-length album Bloodstone & Diamonds on November 7th, 2014 in Europe (excluding the United Kingdom) through Nuclear Blast Entertainment. The label scheduled North American and British release for the November 10th.

Bloodstone & Diamonds was made available in deluxe edition format, in vinyl gatefold format, and in a CD format which included a red foil and leatherbound 48-page media book.

The group entered JingleTown Recording compound on February 9th, 2014 to begin recording sessions. Vocalist Robb Flynn and Juan Urteaga produced, while Colin Richardson mixed. Additional tracking, editing, and mixing was undertaken by Andy Sneap and Steve Lagudi.

Brazilian artist Marcelo Vasco handled cover artwork duties, Machine Head having been introduced to the man’s work through Nuclear Blast USA label manager Gerardo Martinez. Album photography was taken by Travis Shinn.

The track listing was as follows;

01. ‘Now We Die’
02. ‘Killers & Kings’
03. ‘Ghosts Will Haunt My Bones’
04. ‘Night Of Long Knives’
05. ‘Sail Into The Black’
06. ‘Eyes Of The Dead’
07. ‘Beneath The Silt’
08. ‘In Comes The Flood’
09. ‘Damage Inside’
10. ‘Game Over’
11. ‘Imaginal Cells’ (instrumental)
12. ‘Take Me Through The Fire’

Machine Head’s line-up is as follows;

Robb Flynn (vocals and rhythm guitar)
Phil Demmel (lead guitar)
Jared MacEachern (bass)
Dave McClain (drums)

As part of 2014’s Record Store Day on April 19th, Machine Head released a 10-inch vinyl single, with the A-side including the “demo” version of ‘Killers & Kings’. The B-side was a cover interpretation of the track ‘Our Darkest Days’, originally by Ignite. ‘Eyes Of The Dead’ was formerly titled ‘Ojos De La Muerte’. ‘Imaginal Cells’ features audio samples from the 2009 audiobook Spontaneous Evolution by Dr. Bruce Lipton and Steve Bhaerman, meanwhile.

Directed by Mike Sloat, a music video was filmed for the track ‘Now We Die’, which can be viewed below.

Seventh studio record Unto The Locust was released in September 2011 through Roadrunner Records.

<< Back to Archive News
<< Back to Latest News