RSS Feed

IMMORTAL To Begin Recording Ninth Studio Album In January
December 22nd, 2016

Bergen, Norway-based black metal group Immortal – consisting of lyricist / guitarist Demonaz (real name: Harald Nævdal) and drummer Horgh (real name: Reidar Horghagen) — will enter the studio during January 2017 to begin recording their ninth full-length studio album, to be issued later in 2017 through Nuclear Blast.

Immortal issued the following statement: “The songs have been ready for some time, but we wanted to record it at the right place and time.

“We will once again work with Peter Tägtgren at Abyss Studio who produced our four last albums.

“The band will enter the studio during wintertime to have the right atmosphere.

“We look forward to record and present the new album to the IMMORTAL hordes sometime in 2017.

“The tracks that will appear on the album are: ‘Northern Chaos Gods’, ‘Into Battle Ride’, ‘Gates To Blashyrkh’, ‘Blacker Of Worlds’, ‘Where Mountains Rise’, ‘Grim And Dark’, ‘Called To Ice’ and ‘Ravendark’.”

Immortal said the following in a previous statement: “This will be our darkest and coldest album in a long time: pure Blashyrkh metal the way our fans know it, with massive majestic riffs, grim frostbitten vocals and tales from our mighty realm. Fast and furious tracks, epic tracks and longer playtime than any of our previous albums.”

Demonaz is now additionally handling vocals for Immortal following the 2014 split with frontman Olve Eikemo (aka Abbath).

“The massive fan support has been very inspiring and we will not let down the fans,” Immortal continues. “The last year we have completed all the new songs and look forward to record our most passionate album in a long time. The songwriting process has been awesome and we are soon ready to start the recordings.”

Immortal shared the following with respect to Immortal’s forthcoming studio effort. “After the last years incidents it was time to go back to the roots to what this band is really about musically, and also to take the integrity of the band back to where it belongs. Cold, grim uncompromising Blashyrkh metal with a true feeling is what we deliver.

“From 2010 until 2014, Immortal wrote all the songs for the successor to All Shall Fall, but when ex- member Abbath left the band in 2014, he changed the lyrics, song titles and recorded these songs for his so-called ‘solo album.’ We had to focus on making a new album nearly from scratch, which is the main reason why things have taken this much time. We are now looking forward to record the new album and present it to all those who have shown their loyalty and support.

“Immortal has always been a unique and unstoppable force, and that goes for our fans as well. We will never change our music or attitude.”

Immortal’s line-up is as follows;

Demonaz (vocals and guitars)
Apollyon (bass)
Horgh (drums)

Eighth studio record All Shall Fall was released in September 2009 via Nuclear Blast.

<< Back to Archive News
<< Back to Latest News