RSS Feed

GRAVE Release ‘Morbid Ascent’ EP
August 26th, 2013

Swedish death metal group Grave issued EP Morbid Ascent on August 26th, 2013 in Europe through Century Media Records in digital and vinyl format. The label also scheduled a digital only North American release for September 17th.

Sold at various stands at the Party.San and Summer Breeze open-air festivals in Germany, the vinyl edition of Morbid Ascent was released as a 12-inch EP on 180-gram vinyl with full-colour inlay in the following versions:

Dark-green vinyl (limited to 100 copies) – exclusively available at
Transparent orange vinyl (limited to 200 copies)
Black vinyl (limited to 700 copies)

Morbid Ascent’s cover artwork was designed by Costin Chioreanu, who previously designed the cover artworks for the Grave albums Dominion VIII (2008), Burial Ground (2010) and Endless Procession Of Souls (2012).

Morbid Ascent includes two new tracks (‘Venial Sin’ and ‘Morbid Ascent’), a cover version of Satyricon’s ‘Possessed’ (originally from October 2002’s Volcano), a remix version of ‘Epos’ (originally from Endless Procession Of Souls), and a newly recorded version of ‘Reality Of Life’ – the original version of which featured on 1989 demo Sexual Mutilation. Eric Cutler of Californian death metal ensemble Autopsy lent guest solos to opening track ‘Venial Sin’.

The track listing was as follows:

Side one:

01. ‘Venial Sin’
02. ‘Morbid Ascent’

Side two:

03. ‘Possessed’ (originally by Satyricon)
04. ‘Epos’ (from Endless Procession Of Souls; ‘Risen From The Tomb’ edit version)
05. ‘Reality Of Life’

An official lyric video was released for the song ‘Venial Sin’.