RSS Feed

BYZANTINE Unveil Music Video For ‘Vile Maxim’ Track
July 26th, 2017

Charleston, West Virginia-based groove metal band Byzantine have filmed a music video for the track ‘Vile Maxim’. Directed and edited by Holly Siders, the clip can be viewed below.

Byzantine issue sixth full-length studio album The Cicada Tree on July 28th, 2017 through Metal Blade Records.

Frontman Chris Ojeda commented: “The Cicada Tree represents 16 years of a heavy metal band thriving completely underground. Byzantine has been on a slow burn since 2000, constantly crafting our brand of heavy metal and now, with the support of Metal Blade Records, we will finally get a chance to showcase our music on a bigger stage.”

The outing was recorded at 7over8 Studios in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina with producer and engineer Jay Hannon.

The track listing is as follows:

01. ‘New Ways To Bear Witness’
02. ‘Vile Maxim’
03. ‘Map Of The Creator’
04. ‘Dead As Autumn Leaves’
05. ‘Trapjaw’
06. ‘The Subjugated’
07. ‘Incremental’
08. ‘The Cicada Tree’
09. ‘Verses Of Violence’
10. ‘Moving In Stereo’ (The Cars cover)
11. ‘Servitude’ (Fishbone cover)

Byzantine’s line-up is as follows:

Chris “OJ” Ojeda (vocals and guitar)
Brian “Hendo” Henderson (guitar)
Sean Sydnor (bass)
Matt Bowles (drums)

Directed and edited by Holly Siders, a music video was also filmed for the track ‘New Ways To Bear Witness’ which features a cameo from Skeletonwitch drummer Dustin Boltjes and ex-Byzantine drummer Matt Wolfe. In addition, a lyric video was created for the song ‘Trapjaw’. Both clips can be viewed below.

Fifth studio record To Release Is To Resolve was released independently in April 2015.