RSS Feed

AT THE GATES Issue Second Studio Report From Recording Sessions For New Album
November 20th, 2017

Gothenburg, Sweden-based melodic death metal group At The Gates have entered the studio to begin recording their as-yet-untitled sixth full-length studio album, slated for a 2018 issue through Century Media Records.

The outing is being recorded with producer Russ Russell at Parlour Studios in Northampton, England. The effort marks the first At The Gates record to feature guitarist Jonas Stålhammar, whose recruitment was revealed on September 11th. Stålhammar replaced founding guitarist Anders Björler, who announced his exit from the band’s ranks in March 2017.

Vocalist Tomas Lindberg commented: “We are finally hitting the studio and are super excited about this! The songs have been worked on in such detail for the last seven months and we can’t wait to put them down to tape. Russ Russell was actually the runner up for mixing At War With Reality [2014], and we really wanted to work with him on this one. He has what we are looking for when it comes to sheer loud, blunt heaviness.

“This is going to be a darker, richer and more raging album than the last one. It has so much more real At The Gates emotions on display, and I would say, it has the same approach lyrically as the feeling of The Red In The Sky Is Ours [1992]. More of a RED album, than a BLUE one. Can’t wait for people to hear it!”

The second video report from the studio has been released and can be viewed below. In the latest clip, we meet producer Russ Russell and learn more about the process of making the new album.

At The Gates’ line-up is as follows;

Tomas Lindberg (vocals, The Lurking Fear / ex-The Crown / ex-Lock Up)
Jonas Stålhammar (guitars, The Lurking Fear / Crippled Black Phoenix / Bombs Of Hades)
Martin Larsson (guitars, Agrimonia / ex-Bombs Of Hades)
Jonas Björler (bass, The Haunted)
Adrian Erlandsson (drums, The Haunted / The Lurking Fear / ex-Cradle Of Filth / ex-Brujeria)

Fifth studio record At War With Reality was released in October 2014 via Century Media Records.

Promotional photograph by Ester Segarra.