RSS Feed

ACT OF DEFIANCE Make New Song ‘The Talisman’ Available For Streaming
September 27th, 2017

Los Angeles, California-based thrash metal band Act Of Defiance have made the track ‘The Talisman’ available for streaming through YouTube, which can be accessed below.

Drummer Shawn Drover commented: “‘The Talisman’ was written by our bass player Matt Bachand with lyrics and melodies provided by our singer, Henry Derek. I really love how this song builds from a nice serene beginning, morphing into a full heavy metal assault. The verses are nice and sludgy and brutal, so this tune is really dynamic, which is something we like to do, certainly. We hope you dig it as much as we do!”

Act Of Defiance issue second full-length studio album Old Scars, New Wounds on September 29th, 2017 through Metal Blade Records.

The outing was produced by Dave Otero, with Chris Broderick laying down guitars in his own Ill-Fated Studio in Los Angeles, while Henry Derek and Broderick’s vocals were tracked at Red Light Studios, also in Los Angeles. Bassist Matt Bachand recorded his contributions at ManShark in Southampton, Massachusetts, and Shawn Drover’s drums were laid down at Glow In The Dark Studios in Atlanta, Georgia.

Cover artwork was once again created by Travis Smith.

The track listing is as follows:

01. ‘M.I.A.’
02. ‘Molten Core’
03. ‘Overexposure’
04. ‘The Talisman’
05. ‘Lullaby Of Vengeance’
06. ‘Circle Of Ashes’
07. ‘Reborn’
08. ‘Conspiracy Of The Gods’
09. ‘Another Killing Spree’
10. ‘Broken Dialect’
11. ‘Rise Of Rebellion’

Act Of Defiance’s line-up is as follows:

Henry Derek (vocals, ex-Scar The Martyr)
Chris Broderick (guitar, ex-Megadeth / ex-Jag Panzer)
Matt Bachand (bass, Shadows Fall)
Shawn Drover (drums, ex-Megadeth)

Music videos were filmed for the tracks ‘M.I.A.’ and ‘Overexposure’, which can be viewed below.

Debut studio record Birth And The Burial was released in August 2015.